Let’s talk female contraceptive 

Hey beauties! So yes, I’m talking about a topic I didn’t think I would on my blog, but hey this is reality and we all need to be protected and aware of a topic like this. I hope you find this post useful and use it to your advantage if you unsure about many factors regarding the contraceptive methods for woman.

The contraceptive pill/ oral contraceptive:
There are many different methods of the pill and when taken correctly, it is up to 99,9% effective. But do keep in mind the pill does not protect against sexually transmitted diseases, the condom provides the best protection from that. The pill works by thickening the cervical mucus so the sperm cannot reach the egg. It also changes the lining of the uterus so the implantation of a fertilized egg is much less likely to occur it is to be taken everyday at the same time. However if you do forget to take it, take it as soon as you remember. If you do only remember a day after, it’s still not too late, and both the previous day’s pill and current pill due are to be taken together. If you forget to take it 2 days in a row, take 2 days pills the first day, and 2 days pills again the next day. But save yourself confusion and forgetfulness by setting a reminder on your phone or alarm clock for either breakfast, lunch or dinner to make a habit not to forget. I would suggest going to your doctor, getting a full check up and asking as many questions as possible before going on any form of contraception.

Side effects:

Lighter periods. Mood changes. Weight gain. Nausea. Small amounts of blood or spotting between periods. But any other side effects worse than that, immediately consult your doctor.

My experience on the pill: 

I’ve been on the pill for about 8-9 years in total. I have constantly consulted my doctor on many occasions and gone for a full check up in between those 8-9 years. I’ve been on 3 different types of pills according to my age, what was prescribed for me at that time after analyses. I’ve been on Triodene which was first prescribed to me at the age of 19. That pill thankfully had zero side effects on my body. I took that for about 4 years. I had a baby at the age of 23 and obviously was off the pill for a period. Then went onto the Yasmin pill for a while. Side effects from that was a little bit of weight gain, not drastically though, and mood changes every now and then, but my skin looked great. I stopped that for a period and now I’m on Triphasil. I’m now 30 years young 😉 and been on Triphasil for about 5 months. My skin is looking the best it’s been in a really long time, no weight gain (thank you), mood changes ever so slightly but managed haha, my periods are lighter but no spotting in between. I have no problem being on the pill as it is a safety measure, I know exactly when to expect my period and track it, it’s been very effective for ME. I completely understand if people are against the pill and don’t agree, but I’m just sharing my experience and what works for my body.


The injection/ Depo- Provera:

The only contraindication is breast cancer.

What it is:

A contraceptive injection containing progestogen. Progestogen is similar to one of the hormones produced naturally by a woman’s ovaries. It’s given every 12 weeks.

Side effects:

Headaches, weight gain, menstrual cycle disturbance, alterations in mood.

In my opinion I’ve never ever been interested in trying the injection. I don’t think I will be either, just being honest. I’ve heard from a number of woman mostly negative side effects. Yes the pill has side effects too, but not everyone is affected from all or most side effects (speaking from experience and opinion of others who have been/ are on the pill). But for some reason most severe side effects took place with the injection with different woman. However if the injection has been working for you and is effective, don’t take offense to any of this.
The female condom: 

Like men use condoms for protection, they designed one for woman too. Not much to say about this, pretty much self explanatory.

(Image found on Google)
The patch: 

Was introduced in 2002. But to be honest I’ve only heard about it 2 years ago. It’s a small square patch that looks like a band-aid. It sticks to the skin and gradually releases hormones (estrogen and progestin) to prevent pregnancy. It is replaced once a week. Very much similar to the pill, in terms of the way it works.
Tubal ligation or tubectomy:

Or having one’s tubes tied. It’s a surgical procedure for sterilization whereby a woman’s fallonpian tubes are clamped and blocked which prevents eggs from reaching the uterus for implantation.

Side effects:

Abnormal bleeding, pain, changes in sexual behavior and emotional health.

Duration- permanent.
NB- One last thing: 

Don’t forget to get regular check up’s at your doctor and go for a pap-smear annually! 
I hope this post was useful.

Thanks for stopping by😊

4 thoughts on “Let’s talk female contraceptive 

Leave a Reply

