Mac Cosmetics Extended Play Gigablack Lash Mascara Review

Hey beauties!


I feel like all I’ve been doing is reviewing products lately, but I guess it’s a good thing right…? Anyway so jumping into this review of the Mac Cosmetics Extended play gigablack lash mascara. I heard about this Mascara from Jaclyn Hill and Rositaaplebum. I know for both YouTubers it’s a holy grail product. I ran out of my previous Mascara and seeing that I don’t have a holy grail Mascara I thought about trying this and will share why I choose it.

But first this is what the website claims:

‘A lightweight curling, lifting Mascara in an intense carbon black pigment. Applies with a petite gripping brush embedded with micro-spheres to give each Lash effortless, upward bending definition and extreme volume. Easy wash-off formula. Smudge free. Lasts 16 hours.’

I’ve been into drugstore mascara’s mostly for a long time as I didn’t find it necessary to use high end mascara’s, and especially the fact that I wear false lashes most of the time I didn’t bother that much with the type of mascara I’m using. When wearing mascara for a night out or an extended period of time during the day, I noticed that my Mascara would smudge, not stay on and flake off throughout the day especially for days when I’m not wearing any false lashes and mascara alone. I then went on a hunt for a Mascara that I can use especially for my bottom lashes and for when I wear falsies. I then remembered the recommendation for the Gigablack Mascara and decided to give it a try.

When opening the Mascara, it does contain a brush tip (my preference as apposed to a rubber tip) and the wand is quiet long in length. Before applying false lashes I usually apply Mascara first, let it dry for a couple of minutes then apply the falsies. I did so and noticed that this is a great Mascara for my bottom lashes more than my top lashes which is what I wanted anyway. I applied only one and a half coats to my top lashes and then 2 coats to my bottom lashes. The pigmentation is there, super black and did a great job of separating my lashes and making it look full. The real test was to see how well it lasted throughout the day. First day I wore it for about 8 to 9 hours and I was pretty impressed. It lasted well, did not smudge and I didn’t look as if someone punched me and had 2 black eyes. I then decided to wear this for the next couple of days and see if it’s consistent. It did just that, worked well the entire week and I’m happy with this mascara. It might just be my new fav for the lower lashes. I can’t say much about the top lashes as it did nothing for that. So I will continue to use this Mascara for bottom lashes only. And when I’m not wearing falsies I will stick to my Benefit Roller Lash (which I did a review on too). So now I only have one more Mascara from Essence from the drugstore.

I honestly thought this would be another hyped about product that isn’t that amazing but it honestly is. I do think it’s a bit high maintenance to have a Mascara mainly for bottom lashes or when wearing falsies but it’s definitely worth it if you want your Mascara to last throughout the entire day or night without smudging, flaking or looking like a hot mess.

Have you tried this Mascara and what are your thoughts? 

Also, any good drugstore mascara’s I can try? 

Thanks for stopping by😊

14 thoughts on “Mac Cosmetics Extended Play Gigablack Lash Mascara Review

  1. I have heard so much about this mascara on the Pixiwoo channel. Sam always uses it for her bottom lashes.

    As far as mascara recommendations go; L’Oreal False Lash Telescopic is amazing!
    Also. Clinique Extreme High Impact mascara is wonderful. It is not a drugstore but it is one of the best mascaras I have ever tried.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

