My Top 10 Affordable Products

Hey Beauties!


I hope all is well. I’ll jump straight into my top 10 products that I incorporate on a ton of occasions when doing my makeup as I know these items work well for me. Please leave me your suggestions of affordable products you love so I can check em’ out too:) These are my current favs in no particular order:

 

  1. Wet n Wild Megaglo Contouring Palette


Absolutely love this palette, as you can tell the amount of product that’s left. I will definitely be repurchasing this very soon. The pigmentation, quality, longevity of both powders are outstanding and comparable to high end powders. I have mine in the shade Caramel Toffee and use this to contour and highlight or brighten my complexion. I purchased mine at Click Pharmacy for R129.95

 

2. Revlon nearly naked powder


I couldn’t find this particular powder online so I linked a very similar powder to this which is from the Photoready line. This is a little bit pricey for an ‘affordable’ powder, but the quality of this is very good. It’s very smooth, fine and sinks into the skin beautifully. I use this to set my foundation if I want a satin, natural look. I purchased mine a while ago at a Beauty Factory Store at a discounted price. Also hit major pan on this product. I’m not sure  if I will repurchase this as I don’t where to purchase this, but it was good while it’s lasting.

 

3. Colorpop Ultra Matte Liquid Lipstick


I know the ultra matte liquid lipsticks from Colorpop have not been a fav since everyone gravitates towards the satin liquid lipsticks also from Colorpop, but I love the matte lippies. It glides onto my lips, lasts for hours and hours and although the formula is very thin, the pigmentation is amazing. I don’t need to apply 3 layers of this, one or maybe one and a half is enough. I can also wear this without a lip liner which is a bonus. My favorite shade is Chi which is the perfect nude shade for my complexion. The other is Lumiere 2 which I love, a collab with Kathleen Lights which is a mauve/ purple shade. Mine was given to me as a gift but Colorpop can be purchased online at Colorpop.com (It is an American Cosmetics brand).

 

4. Essence Translucent fixing powder


Essence is one of my favorite affordable brands as the quality of their products is so good for the amount you pay (which is next to nothing). I use this translucent powder to set my under eye concealer and it works well for baking too. No flash back or harsh white cast. I just repurchased this when I ran out of my previous one and this is my 3rd or 4th time repurchasing this. I really want to try the NYX HD powder as well so I might purchase that and do a comparison. I purchased the Essence translucent powder at Clicks for R89.95

 

5. E.L.F Cosmetics Baked Highlighters


I must say when I first started using this I thought the pigmentation was not there. I wondered why Kathleen Lights loved this so much and raved about it. I then read a couple of reviews and was recommended to scratch off the 1st layer of this product for further intense pigmentation. It is a bit of a waste but this is a very affordable brand so I didn’t feel that bad removing a layer of this. Once I did that, then only was I happy with this and the pigmentation and highlight was stunning on the skin. If I want my highlight to beam even more, I spray some Mac Fix+ to my brush and then apply this and it looks so gorgeous! I got my ELF products from the ELF website elfcosmetics.com (It is an American cosmetics brand).

 

6. Colorpop Cosmetics Super shock eyeshadows


The formula of these shadows is what I love the most. Has no fall out as it is a cream or mousse like texture and the pigmentation and longevity is worth it for the price. My 2 favs are Kathleenlights and So Quiche.

 

7. Wet n wild Blushes


I don’t think I will ever run out of any of these blushes due to the pigmentation being very high. I literally gently pat my brush in it once only, tap off the excess and then apply and blend. Blush is usually the first to fade throughout the day but when I wear this it lasts throughout the day up until it’s time to remove my makeup. Pearlescent pink is my fav shade as it’s comparable to Nars Organism. I purchase Wet n Wild also from Clicks. Online its R19 which is a bargain in the old packaging. In store it retails for R79.95

 

8. Real Techniques Tools


I still love the Real Techniques sponge and still think it’s comparable or a dupe for the Original Beauty Blender. Also their brushes lasts for a long time and bristles have high quality and works so well for makeup application. Will definitely be purchasing much more tools from this brand and curious to purchase more of their new sponges especially the diamond sponge. I purchase Real Techniques at selected Foschini stores or online at  takelot.com for much cheaper.

 

9. Wet n Wild Megaliner liquid eyeliner


The formula dries down matte, it’s super black, does not fade throughout the day and the tip is flexible to create a sharp, precise wing. I already purchased a backup of this and I’m now hooked. I actually use to wear gel liner ONLY, but discovering this, I now wear liquid liner more than gel liner. I purchased this at Clicks for only R49.95

 

10. ELF Eyebrow kit


I use this on days where I have a bit more time to get ready. I use an eyebrow pencil first then go over with the ELF eyebrow kit. This contains the wax on the left and the powder on the right. The wax keeps my brows in tact or in place and the powder fills in any sparse areas. The brush that comes with it allows me to fill in my brows precisely as well.

 

I know I’ve mentioned quiet a few products from the same brand, but I also do love NYX cosmetics. They’ve recently come out with new products and a new display at stores so I will be purchasing a couple of new products from them and mentioning it soon.

Don’t forget to let me know what are some of your fav affordable products!

 

Thanks for stopping by:)

25 thoughts on “My Top 10 Affordable Products

  1. Loving my Translucent Powder. Same as yours listed above.
    I just purchased my first Highlighters, and love how it ‘highlights’ parts of my face, giving it a glowing complexion.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post! I love real techniques! Ive got their face brushes set & their eyeshadows set ! Their brushes are great & affordable! I haven’t tried any ELF cosmetics yet, but I’m eager too! I sometimes worry whether my face will break out though, as my skin is really sensitive and ELF cosmetics are very very cheap so it makes me think whether the quality of the products is good… 🤔
    https://thetypicalbeautyblog.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Enjoyed reading this! I love it when drugstores can deliver such great quality products.
    I haven’t seen that Essence Translucent fixing powder – I’ll have to keep an eye out for it!
    Some drugstore gems for me are CoverGirl LashBlast Volume mascara, Maybelline Age Rewind concealer and Rimmel Lasting Finish lipsticks. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

