Mac Cosmetics Retro Matte Liquid Lipstick Review 

Hey beauties!

Mac Cosmetics released their liquid lipsticks last year some time I believe, but I was ‘warned’ not to try it as there were many reviews saying that the quality wasn’t up to standard. I didn’t take the plunge, skipped on that and tried some other brands with regards to liquid lipsticks. However recently they relaunched their retro matte liquid lipsticks in new shades too which impressed me. That’s what I like about certain brands especially Mac. If a certain product didn’t work out, they listen to the consumer, reformulate it and release a better version of it again. This time round I watched a couple of reviews and when my colleague had one and wore it my eyes turned into hearts. I was recently at Mac just browsing, swatched a couple of these liquid lipsticks, decided to take one to try out but just before I called a sales assistant I spotted a highlighter (on my instagram post) and bought that instead. Well turns out my colleagues bought 2 shades for me a couple of days later for my birthday, how brilliant did that work out hey?! 😊😊😊
Here are the shades and swatches:

 

‘Lady Be Good’  A peach toned nude shade, perfect for everyday:

 

‘Cafe Au Chic’  A grey mixed with brown shade, perfect for winter:

Firstly the scent is like the typical Mac scent to their lip products (which I love), a light vanilla scent. The doe foot applicator is fat with a sharp tip which makes it very easy to apply the liquid lipstick, I don’t see the need to apply a lip pencil. The formula is thin but not too thin and applies evenly. I apply one, sometimes two coats and seeing that it’s retro matte the shades are very pigmented and opaque. It is long lasting (lasts up to 5 or 6 hours with no touching up). Perfect for a day at work or a long night out. It does not flake off, make my lips feel super dry and does not settle into fine lines.
I’m super impressed and happy with this liquid lipsticks, the formula and longevity is up to standard so well done to Mac.

 

This can be purchased at any Mac Cosmetics store or online sold for R300 each. contains 5ml/ 0.17 fl.oz product.

 

Have you tried any of these liquid lipsticks? What are your thoughts?

 

Thanks for stopping by:)

13 thoughts on “Mac Cosmetics Retro Matte Liquid Lipstick Review 

Leave a Reply

