Mac Cosmetics Extra Dimension Skinfinish Highlighters Review 

Hey Beauties!

Highlight is still the fun part about makeup and I’m still living for it. For today I’ll be sharing my thoughts on these 2 highlighters from Mac Cosmetics.

(With flash on the top and without flash on the bottom)

 

As per the website:

Extra Dimension Skinfinish adds the perfect glow to skin. The liquid-powder highlighter, with prismatic reflections, is designed to sculpt and highlight your face, leaving a luminous, well- defined finish. The creamy powder formula lasts up to ten hours.

Long-wearing , 10 hours

Non-acnegenic

Dermatologist tested

Ophthalmologist tested

For all skin types

Apply to face using a brush as desired.

7 shades.

 

The 2 shades I own are Beaming Blush and Show Gold. Starting with Beaming Blush:

(With flash on the left and without flash on the right)

 

I’m not sure why but this shade reflects more gold than a blush shade on my cheekbones. It is definitely my favorite shade out of the two.  The texture is very smooth, finely mild, does not break me out even if I wear it every single day and the sheen is incredible. It contains no glitter or chunky bits that end up on my entire face and very minimal fallout when dipping my brush in to collect product. I use a fan brush to apply both these highlighters and sometimes I add a liquid highlight before applying the Mac highlight or I would spray my fan brush with a setting spray to intensify the glow. I apply one layer if I spray the brush or use a liquid or cream highlighter first, and 2 layers if I apply the highlighter on its own. It kind of resembles  Global Glow also from Mac as the shades appear similar on my skin, not when swatched on the hand or fingertips, but when applied onto my cheekbones.

 

 

(without flash on the left and with flash on the right)

 

Show gold appears very pink on my cheekbones and this I apply as a blush topper instead of a highlighter on its own. It’s kind of weird that this is named Show Gold and appears more pink on me and Beaming Blush appears more gold on me.  Ironic haha.  This highlight has very fine glitter sparkles and because it has that pink shift this is even more of a reason to wear it as a blush or blush topper. I still do enjoy and love using this highlighter or blush in this instance. The texture isn’t as smooth as Beaming Blush but just by a tad difference though. It still is smooth, just not as super smooth and buttery as Beaming Blush. I found a slight dupe for this highlighter which is from E.L.F. Cosmetics called Pink diamonds (named on point). Mac is far more pigmented than the E.L.F but the shades are very similar on the cheeks in my opinion.

 

To conclude I’m loving both these highlighters and honestly am intrigued by the 5 other shades. The vanilla shades or shades that are way too fair for my skin tones I wouldn’t try, but the ones I can wear and get away with I will definitely be checking out. The other shades are named Oh, Darling, Glow with it, Super, Soft Frost and Doublegleam.

Contains 9g/ 0.31 US Oz.

 

What do you think about these highlighters?

 

Thanks for stopping by:)

23 thoughts on “Mac Cosmetics Extra Dimension Skinfinish Highlighters Review 

  1. Love the colour of these but they’d probably work better as eyeshadows for my skintone. I’ll have to check them out next time I’m in Mac. Great post 🙂 x

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

