Matric Ball/ Prom Makeup, Outfit & Hair 

Hey Beauties!

 

Shout out to all the scholars attending their ball and those that have, I hope you had a blast. I was going to insert a picture of my night and the dress I wore but I cannot find a picture of it and we talking about many moons ago so it is stored somewhere. Here are some inspirational makeup looks and tips for your big night.

Have fun and be safe!

Please remember you more than welcome to use any products of your choice, I’m not suggesting you have to use the same products I did to achieve this look.

Makeup Products used:

Primer – P.S. I would suggest moisturizing your skin about 20 to 30 minutes before applying makeup. the primer I used is the Dermalogica Skin Perfect Primer . I have dry skin and this contains natural skin minerals and silicone to provide luminosity and an even base for further makeup application.

FoundationL.A. Girl HD Pro Coverage Foundation. I have mine in the shade Warm Beige. It does not contain any SPF which ensures no flashback when photos are being taken. It also provides a natural yet build-able coverage with a luminous, flawless finish.

ConcealerRevlon Age Defy Concealer. I used this concealer to highlight and conceal my dark under eyes. I would suggest a light coverage concealer or a light layer of the foundation used. I know so many young girls don’t really need concealer under their eyes as there isn’t really that much to cover up. Or your concealer can be used to conceal blemishes.

Setting Powder – To ensure that your foundation and concealer is set in place and does not move I used the Essence Stay All Day Translucent Setting Powder. I applied the concealer with a damp beauty sponge. This does not cause any flashback in pictures.

Blush Mac Cosmetics Springsheen Blush. One of my favorite blushes of all time. This blush goes with so many makeup looks. It has a slight sheen and provides a little bit of a glow. If you not into this blush I would suggest Mac Melba or Mac Peaches as both these blushes are matte and suitable for any makeup look.

Highlight – A cream highlight was applied first then a powder on top to ensure that glow lasts. I used the NYX Born to glow Liquid Illuminator and BH Cosmetics Carli Bybel  (second right shade) over top.

Contour Benefit Cosmetics Hoola Bronzer was used in the hollows of my cheekbones, nose, and chin to define and create structure.

Eye browsColourpop Bangin’Brunette Brow Pencil. This was my last application of this brow pencil as I ran out of it (crying face) and I really enjoyed using this. To ensure my brows do not move I applied Essence Brow gel.

Eye shadow paletteBH Cosmetics Carli Bybel. Unfortunately this palette is no longer available as the new release of her palette launched. But the new release/ new palette looks even more stunning with similar theme and some new shades added. I was good and only used one eye shadow palette to make this look easy and simple. With a blending brush I used the middle top row shade in the crease as my transition shade. The deeper matte shade next to that on the right was blended in after that. In the second row using the second shade from the left which is a shimmer shade on all over the lid. The brown shade on the far right was used to intensify the out V of the eyes. To highlight the brow bone I used the cream shade on the far top left of the palette. To highlight the inner corner/ tear duct I used the first pale pink highlighter. Sorry these shades have no names hence the description of where the shades are.

Eyeliner – I did apply a winged eye liner look but that’s optional. However I would suggest a really intense black liner that lasts all night. I love the NYX Matte Liquid Liner. I also used the Wet n Wild Eye Pencil in Calling Your Buff on the bottom water line to make my eyes appear more awake and larger.

Mascara – I would suggest a waterproof mascara as this lasts all night and doesn’t run or flake off. Revlon Bold Laquer Waterproof Mascara

Lashes – I highly recommend wearing false lashes. Even though you have never worn eyelashes before, it’s that one night that you’ll get a chance to as it accentuates your eyes and looks absolutely stunning in pictures. I wore both upper and lower false eyelashes from Ardell and it really made my eyes stand out.

Lipstick and Lip Gloss – I would definitely suggest a liquid lipstick as this ensure your lipstick lasts for hours and hours. I mixed Anastasia Beverly Hills Liquid Lipstick in Naked and Colourpop Liquid Lipstick in Chi. But because I don’t really enjoy a matte lip lately I’ve been topping off my Liquid Lipsticks with a gloss and my lip products still lasts for hours. I topped it off with Mac Cosmetics Cremesheen Glass in Deelight.

Setting Spray – Always set your Makeup in place with a setting spray to ensure longevity. I love Woolworths Makeup Finishing Setting Spray. It’s like hairspray for your face.

 

 

 

Hair:

I sprayed a heat protecting spray. My favorite is from TRESemme Heat Defense Styling Spray .I then curled my hair with this curling wand taking sections piece by piece and wrapping it around the barrel for about 15 seconds. This barrel is more suited for short hair to be honest, it is so old and if you do have long hair use a bigger barrel to get bigger fluffier curls. To ensure my curls lasts I sprayed the  TRESemme Extra Hold Finishing Spray.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Outfit:

I have only 2 options as my little black dress no longer fits me (yikes) and I really wanted to include that lovely dress. Anyway both these dresses I love, one is more casual and the other is more formal. If you not having your dress made, Forever new is my top suggestion as they have such stunning dresses for any occasion. From formal to casual to smart casual, you will definitely find your pick.

 

DressForever New

Heels: Shoe City

Dress: Purchased in Hawaii (once again, search at Forever New for similar styles)

WedgesLevi

 

Let me know how your big night was or if it’s still coming up what do you have in mind? Once again, have a blast!

 

Thanks for stopping by:)

10 thoughts on “Matric Ball/ Prom Makeup, Outfit & Hair 

  1. My prom makeup was so bad, now looking back at it. I wore SILVER eye shadow LMAO. XD You did a gorgeous wearable look and the hair looks great too. That white dress is so pretty!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

