Clinique Take The Day Off Cleansing Balm Review 

 

Hey Beauties!

 

I’ve been on the hunt for a makeup remover as I got tired of using facial wipes to remove my makeup before properly cleansing my skin and moving onto other skincare steps. I’ve heard about the Clinique Take The Day Off Cleansing Balm from varies Youtubers. I went to my nearest mall to purchase this a couple of months ago but they did not have the Cleansing balm in stock. A couple of weeks ago upon doing my monthly necessities at the mall I caught a glimpse of this and snatched it straight away. This was perfect timing as I ran out of facial wipes the evening before spotting the cleansing balm.

 

The packaging:

Contains 125ml container/ jar. The jar is quiet sturdy and has a little bit of weight to it with a twist open lid. The balm inside is in solid form, once applied to the skin the product melts into an oil. Has no scent.

 

Claims:

According to Clinique this is a lightweight makeup remover that quickly dissolves tenacious eye and face makeup, sunscreens. Transforms from a solid balm into a silky oil upon application. Cleans thoroughly, rinses off completely. Gently helps remove the stress of pollution so skin looks younger, longer. Non-greasy. Non-drying. Ophthalmologist tested. For all skin types.

 

Where to purchase:

Clinique Products can be purchased at any retailer such as Foschini, Edgars, Woolworths. Retail selling price is R295.

 

Other reviews:

Ratings are between 4 or 5 stars. For most people it’s a product worth purchasing with mostly great reviews.

 

My experience:

I honestly didn’t think I would like this product and didn’t have high hopes for this product. In all honesty MannyMua and PatrickStarrr love this and I do believe their video was sponsored when reviewing this product. Not that I have an issue with sponsored posts or think their opinion isn’t genuine but it’s something that I wanted to personally experience and purchase myself to give my brutally honest review (so serious)…

When I opened the tub I expected a scent, even a light scent but I was pleasantly surprised that there was no scent whatsoever. I then dug my finger in it (a bit too much) and didn’t realise how smooth and silky the consistency was. It’s definitely not necessary to dig in vigorously as I did to get a good amount of product to cover the face and neck. I did however remove my eye makeup prior and used this balm to remove my face makeup. I was also very pleased at how easy this removed my makeup after wiping off the balm and makeup with a warm cloth. I then cleansed my skin with my normal cleanser. Using a clean cotton pad and toner, I noticed there was no makeup residue on the cotton pad and was beginning to lighten up to this product. One thing I did notice is that my skin did not feel greasy or no residue left behind and my skin felt very hydrated and moisturized. I was weary that it might cause a breakout or clog my pores, but so far nothing whatsoever. It made my skin feel so soft and smooth after cleansing and removed my makeup so well. I then put it to the test a couple of nights after that with my eye makeup as well, having worn liquid liner, false eyelashes and liquid lipstick, and mind you I didn’t think it would do any good at this task. This sucker removed it all and I felt like this cleansing balm was laughing at me at the end of my makeup removal saying with the famous quote “I told you so.” I am use to or absolutely loved the Dermalogica Precleanse which is an oil with the same concept to remove makeup and sunscreen. That was in a liquid consistency but worked just a well. My only set back is that Dermalogica is hella expensive here and I cannot afford that on a regular basis. The Clinique balm is such a good alternative for me, it’s much cheaper and works just as well, if not better.

 

To conclude I’m so happy I stumbled across this balm and I do recommend this to all of you. It really does a great job of actually removing makeup PROPERLY. This balm should last me a couple of months too and I’m putting facial wipes to rest for a long while at least.

 

Have you tried the Clinique Cleansing Balm? What are your thoughts?

 

Thanks for stopping by:)

 

 

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Clinique Take The Day Off Cleansing Balm Review 

  1. I never tried this one, but it really seems like something that everyone likes. This one is really expensive here, so I don’t think I’ll spend a lot of money for something that just takes off makeup. xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t really tried something like this before, but you certainly have me intrigued. Problem is I generally only use make up for special occasions so I don’t think I would get through it all

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your feedback doll. Yeah I do think this would take quiet a while for you to get through should you purchase it. For me I use it almost every day so it’s worthwhile and would last a couple of months, but for you it would most likely last even longer

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love this balm so much! It lasts me a while too since I wear makeup sometimesm I love the fact that I don’t need to use a lot of product, and it lasts me way longer than using 2-3 wipes all the time to remove my makeup. Great purchase!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for your input lovie! So glad you love it too, and if I add up all the purchases of wipes over a couple of months, it amounts to the same as constant wipes purchases. Xo

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

